top of page
  • Writer's picturelauren serge

alleviation

the stoplight glows between my eyelashes

the murmur of the humid wind slowly wafting into my car

wrapping my skin in warmth instead of the coat i refused to wear

my clothes reek of an eight hour shift

i have the desire to take a few showers

to bathe in scorching water

the light turns green

and i feel as though i'm the only person moving in the world

the streets are bare, the flesh and bones of the town are etched beside me

i let the song continue to play

that one that i never seem to skip

even though i don't care for it all that much

and i just feel like singing

letting the voice i hide so deep within me

to climb out and be liberated

to wedge itself between my body and the windshield

performing to an audience of one

and somewhere

amid the minimal turns and muted street lamps

i feel the overwhelming sensation of alleviation

that whatever i am enduring will be mended

that my hardships will subside

and my mind can be at ease

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

security

the soft strings of the carpet nudge against my back creating small imprints along my skin, itching, begging for me to sit up my eyes fixate on the bright bulbs casting from my ceiling fan, burning, f

room

i climbed up the stairs to view my room for the last time my bedroom of nearly 18 years now a bare recollection there are so few traces of me in this room now its baby blue walls covered up by an expr

special occasions

my knees burn against the carpeting pulling delicate pieces of china dishes from the cabinet laced with gold rims and flowered engravings shoved away for special occasions for forks to scratch their s

bottom of page