top of page
  • Writer's picturelauren serge

security

the soft strings of the carpet nudge against my back

creating small imprints along my skin, itching, begging for me to sit up

my eyes fixate on the bright bulbs casting from my ceiling fan, burning, forming fresh pools at their edges

i shiver with each whir of the blades, desiring the pile of blankets to the left of me, but too withdrawn to reach them


i can sense the past presences, the prior sensations of comfort

inching further away

past the gold curtains, past the tiny twinkles of light, past the panes of glass

until they're lying in the street like shards of bottles crunching beneath tires


my security has always had an expiration date

a defined, temporary existence stamped with saturated ink, illustrating its eventual departure from me


i try to hold myself together, my bare arms wrapping around my torso

attempting to fill previous molds until my skin feels whole

but my arms are too weak

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

room

i climbed up the stairs to view my room for the last time my bedroom of nearly 18 years now a bare recollection there are so few traces of me in this room now its baby blue walls covered up by an expr

alleviation

the stoplight glows between my eyelashes the murmur of the humid wind slowly wafting into my car wrapping my skin in warmth instead of the coat i refused to wear my clothes reek of an eight hour shift

special occasions

my knees burn against the carpeting pulling delicate pieces of china dishes from the cabinet laced with gold rims and flowered engravings shoved away for special occasions for forks to scratch their s

bottom of page