top of page
  • Writer's picturelauren serge

winter -- marker words

{this piece is old-- i want spring & summer rn}


this time of year sends my heart

spiraling towards nostalgia. the

powdered dusting of snow sweeping

along the streets and beneath my

shoes tugs at childhood excitement.

watching the flakes drift down

outside the windows of a familiar

restaurant warms my insides,

like the hot tea the couple behind

us is sipping. drivers creep along

roads with frosted headlights, gathering

each vehicle at a snail's pace. the street

lamps capture the glow of the white lawns

as the snow falls in buckets, casting rapid

shield of white in pure silence. the bitter

cold is buried in jackets and sharp drinks

that tingle the throat. music pumps throat veins

and tongues tire from talking and kissing. this

time of year engulfs me in enthusiasm, adventure

and wholesome reminiscence.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

wordle--sun

the sun like to graze my skin so thoughtfully in the summer creating gold streaks of radiance all over my thighs and its warmth tickled me like the sour blackberries behind my grandmother's house that

blue

the color is peace. the depth of the oceans, the rain splattered on the windows, the purest skies. a symbol of sadness. of bold tears on small faces. crystal eyes and kind intentions. the comforting w

bottom of page