top of page
  • Writer's picturelauren serge

everything is muffled

I keep trying to pull my ends together like tying shoestrings as a child but the laces are too short i watch the destruction transpire through blurred lenses the mascara stains like watercolor mistakes everything i have shoved so far beneath has been muffled a slight murmur in the distance incomprehensible to anyone tonight, i hear it all so loud, so clear an orchestra playing right against my ears it's deafening the result of countless months forcing tribulations into treasure chests until they can hold nothing more the lids burst open their contents erupting replacing my blood with anguish

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

security

the soft strings of the carpet nudge against my back creating small imprints along my skin, itching, begging for me to sit up my eyes fixate on the bright bulbs casting from my ceiling fan, burning, f

room

i climbed up the stairs to view my room for the last time my bedroom of nearly 18 years now a bare recollection there are so few traces of me in this room now its baby blue walls covered up by an expr

alleviation

the stoplight glows between my eyelashes the murmur of the humid wind slowly wafting into my car wrapping my skin in warmth instead of the coat i refused to wear my clothes reek of an eight hour shift

bottom of page