top of page
  • Writer's picturelauren serge

wrench

i sat on the floor the instruction manual on my lap a small wrench in my hands i knew what i had done wrong but i had no clue how to fix it i sat there fighting the urge to cry as another girl's father sat beside me and fixed it for me used the small wrench that i had tossed to the side not even knowing what it was used for i wonder if he pitied me if he drove home with his wife in the passenger seat and told her how sorry he felt for me how sorry he was that he had to be the one to help me how helpless i must've looked

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

security

the soft strings of the carpet nudge against my back creating small imprints along my skin, itching, begging for me to sit up my eyes fixate on the bright bulbs casting from my ceiling fan, burning, f

room

i climbed up the stairs to view my room for the last time my bedroom of nearly 18 years now a bare recollection there are so few traces of me in this room now its baby blue walls covered up by an expr

alleviation

the stoplight glows between my eyelashes the murmur of the humid wind slowly wafting into my car wrapping my skin in warmth instead of the coat i refused to wear my clothes reek of an eight hour shift

bottom of page